• article
  • article

HRH Premier to meet high-level delegation of Nobel laureates

Manama, Sept. 7 (BNA): His Royal Highness Prime Minister Prince Khalifa bin Salman Al Khalifa will meet Sunday a high-level delegation of Nobel Peace Prize laureates in support of his vision to promote peace efforts, tolerance and coexistence among people.

The delegation includes three former Nobel Peace Prize laureates: Frederick William de Klerk, former President of the Republic of South Africa (1989-1994), Mr. Lech Walesa, former President of the Republic of Poland (1990-1995), Mr. Jose Ramos-Horta, former President of East Timor (2007, 2012).

HRH the Prime Minister will also meet Anna Tibajuka, Under-Secretary-General and former Executive Director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT), winner of the 2016 Sustainable Development Award and the Gutenberg Environmental Prize, known as the Nobel Prize for the Environment.

HRH Premier will also meet Kylash Satyarthi, a Nobel Peace Prize laureate in 2014; a social and human rights activist from the Republic of India, who heads the Kylash Satyarthi Foundation for Children. 

These heroic figures led non-violent dramatic changes in their nations that advanced peace, security, and human rights. 

This visit provides an opportunity to learn and exchange knowledge with an influential personality who supports the values of tolerance and coexistence in the Kingdom of Bahrain. It is consistent with Bahrain's vision of being a leader in advancing the values for which the Peace Prize is granted to advance the inspiring message that the pursuit of peace is the most noble and worthwhile route to a secure healthy nation and world. 

About former Nobel Peace Prize laureates:

Frederik Willem (FW) de Klerk 

Frederik Willem (FW) de Klerk was a highly successful South African politician. In 1989, de Klerk was elected president of South Africa. 

After assuming the role of president, among his first instructions to the cabinet was to craft a new vision that would end Apartheid, a separation of civil society by race. 

The ruling white majority had held power for decades. Convincing them to turn over the reigns to a constitutional majority in which they would emerge as a minority was a formidable challenge. That he was able to convince the majority of his electorate is just one astounding chapter of his story.

In 1993: de Klerk and Mandela were jointly awarded the Nobel Peace Prize. 

Mr. Jose Ramos-Horta, Former President Of East Timor (2007, 2012)

José Manuel Ramos-Horta GColIH was born on 26 December 1949. He is an East Timorese politician who was the President of East Timor from 20 May 2007 to 20 May 2012. Previously he was Minister of Foreign Affairs from 2002 to 2006 and Prime Minister from 2006 to 2007. He is a co-recipient of the 1996 Nobel Peace Prize.

As a founder and former member of Fretilin, Ramos-Horta served as the exiled spokesman for the East Timorese resistance during the years of the Indonesian occupation of East Timor (1975–1999). While he continued to work with Fretilin, Ramos-Horta resigned from the party in 1988, becoming an independent politician.

After East Timor achieved independence in 2002, Ramos-Horta was appointed as the country's first foreign minister. He served in this position until his resignation on 25 June 2006, amidst political turmoil. On 26 June, following the resignation of Prime Minister Mari Alkatiri, Ramos-Horta was appointed as acting Prime Minister by President Xanana Gusmão. Two weeks later, on 10 July 2006, he was sworn in as the second Prime Minister of East Timor. He was elected as President in 2007. On 11 February 2008, Ramos-Horta was shot during an assassination attempt.

After leaving office as President in 2012, Ramos-Horta was appointed as the United Nations' Special Representative and Head of the United Nations Integrated Peacebuilding Office in Guinea-Bissau (UNIOGBIS) on 2 January 2013.

Anna Kajumulo Tibaijuka 

Anna Kajumulo Tibaijuka (born 12 October 1950) is a Tanzanian, CCM politician and Member of Parliament for Muleba South constituency since 2010. She served as the Minister of Lands, Housing and Human Settlement Developments from 2010 to 2014.

She is also a former under-secretary-general of the United Nations and executive director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT). She was the second highest ranking African woman in the UN system until her resignation in 2010 to run for political office in Tanzania.

Kailash Satyarthi, Nobel Peace Prize Winner 2014, President Of the Kylash Satyarthi Foundation For Children.

Kailash Satyarthi (born Kailash Sharma; 11 January 1954) is an Indian children's rights activist. He is a Nobel Peace Prize recipient and founder of Bachpan Bachao Andolan (lit. Save Childhood Movement), the Kailash Satyarthi Children’s Foundation, Global March Against Child Labour, and GoodWeave International.

To date, Kailash Satyarthi and his team at Bachpan Bachao Andolan have liberated more than 87,000[4] children in India from child labour, slavery and trafficking. In 1998, Satyarthi conceived and led the Global March against Child Labour,[5] an 80,000 km-long march across 103 countries to put forth a global demand against child labour. The movement became one of the largest social movements ever on behalf of exploited children.