Bahrain bags 8 medals in BRAVE International Combat Week

  • article

Manama,  Nov. 14 (BNA): The Kingdom of Bahrain's fighters have bagged eight medals in the 2019 BRAVE International Combat Week thanks to the unwavering support of HH Shaikh Khalid bin Hamad Al Khalifa, First Deputy President of the Supreme Council for Youth and Sports and President of Bahrain Olympic Committee. 


Organised by Bahrain Mixed Martial Arts Federation (BMMAF) in collaboration with BRAVE Organisation and IMMAF-WMMAA, the event is taking place on November 10-16, 2019, at Khalifa Sports City's GYM and will feature the 6th edition of the Amateur World Championship and BRAVE 31 as well as KHK International Open Championship. 


"We are proud of seeing our national fighters gifting Bahrain eight medals today on the first day of the finals," HH Shaikh Khalid bin Hamad said, praising the Bahraini participants for winning a gold medal, a silver medal and six bronzes. 


BRAVE and KHK International Open Championship

It's worth noting that BRAVE and the first edition of KHK International Open Championship will kick-off on Friday and, on this occasion, HH Shaikh Khalid underscored the importance of holding both events on Bahrain's soil because they represent a real opportunity to spread the MMA sport among the Bahraini youth and cement Bahrain's leading position in the MMA sport at the international level. 


"Bahrain has achieved an exceptional accomplishment in the BRAVE International Combat Week. This is clear proof of our fighters' keenness to reflect a bright image of the Kingdom of Bahrain," HH Shaikh Khalid stressed. 


Golden Murad

Bahrain's gold medal was won by Murad Jusinov who triumphed over Russian fighter Kamel Shaikhamatov in the final game of the 77 kg category. Meanwhile, Murad Ibrahaminov was defeated in the final game of the 56.7 kg category against Jani Adilisek of Kazakhstan, as a result of which he settled with the silver medal. 


Moreover, the Bahraini bronze medal winners include Ali Yaqoub, Shamel Aliakhanov, Brenam Mujamed Majidov, Sultan Omarov and Shamel Ghazareef. The winners were honoured by representatives from the sponsors of the event.